News Releases

District Win for BHS FBLA

Date: 2/2/2012 9:49:44 AM
For Immediate Release
Contact: Webmaster

FBLA members from BHS attended the District VII Spring Leadership Conference/Competition on January 25, 2012, at the Northwest Arkansas Convention Center/Holiday Inn in Springdale. Students participated in various business-related competitive events taking written tests and/or performing. Others assisted with the campaign booth activities for our candidate running for the District President position.

Students networked with other FBLA members from Benton and Washington County schools and attended the Opening Session where they heard representatives from Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Make-A-Wish Foundation and March of Dimes speak.

The following members were recognized at the afternoon Awards Ceremony:

Accounting I, First Place, Leslie Dagen;

Accounting II, Second Place, Zach Jones;

Business Law, First Place, Melissa Perlman;

Business Ethics, First Place, Mitchell Hasler, Taylor Riney, and Divya Shah;

Business Presentation, Third Place, Neeraj Bajpayee and Rahul Nair;

Business Math, Fifth Place, Jason Jang;

Computer Problem Solving, Fifth Place, Patrick Brophy;

Cyber Security, Second Place, Toby Lithalangsy;

Emerging Business Issues, Third Place, Erik Fretland, Isaac Robson, and Adam Lantz;

Impromptu Speaking, First Place, Dylan Deluca;

Introduction to Business Communication, Second Place, McKyla Larsen;

Marketing, Third Place, Ian Rippl and Blayne Hill;

Public Speaking II, Second Place, Emma Hackett;

Spreadsheet Applications, Second Place, Hailey Kemp.

First place winners received a plaque and certificate; all other winners received a certificate. Bentonville was recognized in third place for the Largest Chapter Membership, and Emma Hackett was elected District VII President/State Vice President 2012-2013.

Austin Hackett was recognized as outgoing District Vice President, and Ms. Sooter was recognized for being the adviser. Both received plaques.

All these students will now advance to the State competition in April in Little Rock along with the following whose events begin at the state level:

Management Decision Making, Taylor Huston, Natalie Aguila, and Alex Martin;

Help Desk, Emilee Dehmer;

Business Plan, Tanner Hiatt, Josh Stone, and Peter Kane;

Community Service Project, Chandler Hesington, Jacqui Dix, and Patrick Brophy;

Computer Games and Simulation, Richard Merritt and Shawn Smith.

Ms. Kelly Teague and Mrs. Kim Green, interns from the University of Arkansas, John Greenway, and Ms. Patsy Sooter, Adviser, accompanied the group to the conference.